HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    Limitless Mind

    Джо Боулер

    When we learn, we change what we believe and how we interact with the world. This changes who we are as people and what we can achieve.Many people grow up being told they are ‘not a maths person’ or perhaps ‘not smart’. They come to believe their potential is limited.Now, however, the latest science has revealed that our identities are constantly in flux; when we learn new things, we can change our identities, increase our potential and broaden our capacity to receive new information.Drawing from the latest research, Professor Boaler followed thousands of school students, studied their learning practices and examined the most effective ways to transform pupils from low to high achievers. Throughout her study, Boaler has collaborated with Stanford University neuroscience experts, harnessing their expertise to reinforce her advanced understanding of learning and educational development.In UNLOCK, Boaler presents original groundbreaking research that proves that limiting beliefs really do hold us back from fulfilling our potential and that with a few careful life hacks we can transform our potential for good.

    Skulduggery Pleasant

    Derek Landy

    Skulduggery Pleasant and Valkyrie Cain are back in their most gripping story yet, as book 11, Midnight, picks up where Resurrection left off – and runs.For years, Valkyrie Cain has struggled to keep her loved ones safe from harm, plunging into battle – time and time again – by Skulduggery Pleasant’s side, and always emerging triumphant.But now the very thing that Valkyrie fights for is in danger, as a ruthless killer snatches her little sister in order to lure Valkyrie into a final confrontation. With Skulduggery racing to catch up and young sorcerer Omen scrambling along behind, Valkyrie only has twelve hours to find Alice before it’s too late. The clock is ticking…

    Dangerous Hero

    Tom Bower

    Jeremy Corbyn is on the brink of becoming Prime Minister. Tom Bower has written the book you need to read to understand Jeremy Corbyn’s past, his politics and the nature of the Government he seeks to lead. An unmissable account of Corbyn’s life so far… After four unremarkable decades in politics, Jeremy Corbyn stands on the brink of power. Until his surprise election as leader of the Labour Party in 2015, this seemingly unelectable oddball had not been a major political player. Since then, Corbyn has survived coup attempts and accusations of incompetence that would have felled most politicians, including grave charges of anti-Semitism, bullying and not being the master of his brief. Despite these shortcomings, as the Conservatives rip themselves apart over Europe, he is likely soon to become Britain's prime minister. Yet this hero of the far left has done his best to conceal much of his past and personal life from public scrutiny. In this book, best-selling investigative biographer Tom Bower reveals hidden truths about Corbyn's character, the causes and organisations he espouses, and Britain's likely fate under the Marxist-Trotskyist society he has championed since the early 1970s. Based on eyewitness accounts from those who have known Corbyn throughout his life, the book asks whether a Labour government led by Corbyn would transform the country for the better. Has capitalism, as he argues, run its course, and would our lives be improved by socialism? If so, what is Corbyn's brand of socialism? The same as that experienced under successive Labour governments since 1945, or something more extreme? Will his advocacy of more debt, tax hikes and renationalisation reproduce the fate of Venezuela as championed by his own hero Hugo Chávez? Is he a reformer or a revolutionary? Will he deliver a glowing new era or catastrophe? His supporters damn every opponent and critic, calling them 'traitors' or worse. Does this aggression, and the accusations that paint Corbyn as an entrenched anti-Semite and misogynist, override his image as an authentic 'good bloke'? Many are excited by the prospect of Corbyn’s arrival in Downing Street. Others believe that Corbyn as prime minister will prove to be a dangerous hero.

    Cinders & Sparks

    Lindsey Kelk

    A funked up, funny and fabulous twist on the Cinderella story for every reader of 7+ who loves Frozen and Shrek, by bestselling queen of comedy Lindsey Kelk.She will go to the ball. But nothing will go to plan…Cinders lives a boring life with her selfish stepsisters and grumpy stepmother. So when her wishes start magically coming true, and her dog Sparks starts to talk, it’s a surprise to say the least.Then Cinders meets her fairy godmother: she’s magic, she can fly, and she’s called… Brian. (Apparently it’s a perfectly sensible name for a fairy.)But Brian is NOT very reliable and Cinders is NOT very good at magic. Soon, Cinders finds herself living a life that is not boring at all – it’s total chaos!

    Home Truths

    Susan Lewis

    Pre-order the new novel from Sunday Times bestselling author, Susan Lewis.Praise for Susan Lewis’ bestselling novels:‘Susan Lewis has a gift for telling warm family stories that also take you by surprise. One Minute Later will make you savour every second’ Jane Corry

    Perfect Crime

    Helen Fields

    ‘Highly recommended’ JAMES OSWALD‘Deliciously dark and gritty’ CAROLINE MITCHELLYour darkest moment is your most vulnerable…Stephen Berry is about to jump off a bridge until a suicide prevention counsellor stops him. A week later, Stephen is dead. Found at the bottom of a cliff, DI Luc Callanach and DCI Ava Turner are drafted in to investigate whether he jumped or whether he was pushed…As they dig deeper, more would-be suicides roll in: a woman found dead in a bath; a man violently electrocuted. But these are carefully curated deaths – nothing like the impulsive suicide attempts they’ve been made out to be.Little do Callanach and Turner know how close their perpetrator is as, across Edinburgh, a violent and psychopathic killer gains more confidence with every life he takes…An unstoppable crime thriller from the #1 bestseller. The perfect read for fans of Karin Slaughter and M. J. Arlidge.

    Maeve Kerrigan

    Jane Casey

    From award-winning author Jane Casey comes an exciting short detective story following Maeve Kerrigan and Josh Derwent.Everyone is capable of murder…‘I’ve killed my husband.’Those are the words Sheila Gleeson greets the police with when they arrive on her doorstep. There is a murder weapon, fingerprints, a confession. It’s clearly premeditated murder, end of story.Or is it?Because when detectives Maeve Kerrigan and Josh Derwent dig a little deeper, they realise things might not be quite what they seem. And soon, they’re forced to question whether the woman in their custody really is as guilty as she seems, or if the killer is still on the loose…To avoid disappointment, please note this story has previously been published in the back of the Tesco edition of Let the Dead Speak.

    Seven Days

    Alex Lake

    The twisty new psychological thriller from the Sunday Times bestselling authorMaggie Taylor’s son is a week away from his third birthday, and she is terrified. Because in her world, third birthdays are the day on which the worst possible thing happens…She loses her child.For the last decade, Maggie has been imprisoned in a basement. Kidnapped aged sixteen, she has not seen a sunrise for ten years.During that time, she has had three sons and, on the day of their third birthdays, her captor – their father – has come and taken the first two from her.She cannot let it happen again.She has seven days to stop it.

    Skulduggery Pleasant

    Derek Landy

    The skeleton detective is coming back to life… again! It’s the tenth, triumphant novel in the Skulduggery Pleasant series, and it will rearrange your world.Skulduggery and Valkyrie are back in the tenth instalment in the bestselling Skulduggery Pleasant series – an incredible and unexpected treat for the legions of fans around the world.We can’t say much but we can say this: Skulduggery and Valkyrie are going to team up with beloved characters from the first 9 books as well as an all-new cast, including new teen co-star Omen Darkly, for an adventure that takes the story to truly global proportions… while answering questions that go right back to the beginning.And Derek says this: “I was halfway through Last Stand of Dead Men, I think, when I realised that I had more stories to tell. I told myself that if Skulduggery and Valkyrie survived the series, I would leave the option open of returning to their world. There were still secrets I need to reveal, after all, and there were still horrors they had to face. They survived the first series. But they’re really going to wish they hadn’t.”

    Wild Cards

    Джордж Р. Р. Мартин

    The return of the famous shared-world superhero books created and edited by George R.R. Martin, author of A Song of Ice and FireFor decades, George R.R. Martin – bestselling author of A Song of Ice and Fire – has collaborated with an ever-shifting ensemble of science fiction and fantasy icons to create the amazing Wild Cards universe.In the aftermath of World War II, the Earth’s population was devastated by a terrifying alien virus. Those who survived were changed for ever. Some, known as Jokers, were cursed with bizarre mental and physical deformities; others, granted superhuman abilities, are known as Aces.Wild Cards tells the stories of this world.