HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    The Prison Doctor

    Dr Brown Amanda

    ‘Extraordinary’ Daily Mail As seen on BBC Breakfast Horrifying, heartbreaking and eye-opening, these are the stories, the patients and the cases that have characterised a career spent being a doctor behind bars. Violence. Drugs. Suicide. Welcome to the world of a Prison Doctor. Dr Amanda Brown has treated inmates in the UK’s most infamous prisons – first in young offenders’ institutions, then at the notorious Wormwood Scrubs and finally at Europe’s largest women-only prison in Europe, Bronzefield. From miraculous pregnancies to dirty protests, and from violent attacks on prisoners to heartbreaking acts of self-harm, she has witnessed it all. In this eye-opening, inspirational memoir, Amanda reveals the stories, the patients and the cases that have shaped a career helping those most of us would rather forget. Despite their crimes, she is still their doctor.

    The Princess's Secret Longing

    Carol Townend

    ‘I would like a child… Will you agree to father it?’ Part of Princesses of the Alhambra: Princess Alba longs for a life away from her tyrannical Sultan father. She craves a happy family life of her own, away from the palace walls she’s been imprisoned in all her life. So when honourable Lord Inigo comes to her rescue she’s spellbound! The Spanish knight is betrothed to another, but could he be her only hope of realising her dream?

    The Princess Plan

    Julia London

    Passion. Intrigue. Love. “This is a perfect historical romance” – Sunday Times Bestselling Author Sarah Morgan “The gorgeous characters and the wit and charm made this a book I simply didn’t want to put down. I was willing Eliza and Sebastian on to their fairytale happy ending!” – Nicola Cornick London’s high society loves nothing more than a scandal. And when the personal secretary of the visiting Prince Sebastian of Alucia is found murdered, it’s all anyone can talk about, including Eliza Tricklebank. Her unapologetic gossip gazette has benefited from an anonymous tip off about the crime, forcing Sebastian to ask for her help in his quest to find his friend’s killer. With a trade deal on the line and mounting pressure to secure a noble bride, there’s nothing more dangerous than a prince socialising with a commoner. Sebastian finds Eliza’s contrary manner as frustrating as it is seductive, but they’ll have to work together if they’re going to catch the culprit. And soon, as temptation becomes harder to ignore, it’s the prince who’ll have to decide what comes first—his country or his heart.

    The Personals

    Brian O’Connell

    The Personals reveals how classified ads are not just a few commercial lines of text in print or online – they can be a treasure trove of fascinating human stories; stories of love, loss, loneliness, redemption and hope. Some people do Sudoku, others watch Netflix. Brian O’Connell loves the classified ads. In an era of spin doctors and press releases, celebrities and social influencers, the classified ads can open a door into the lives of ordinary people with extraordinary stories. What draws Brian to the classified ads are the intriguing human stories he finds there, the unexpected twists and turns, the personalities, the curious objects and the range of human experience waiting to be discovered. The Personals is a diverse collection of compelling stories about the people and the lives behind the small ads.

    The Perfect Widow

    A.M. Castle

    ‘Unbelievably great!!!! I loved this book. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars Louise Bridges has the perfect life. A loving husband, Patrick. Two adorable children. A comfortable home. So when PC Becca Holt arrives to break the news that Patrick has been killed in an accident, she thinks Louise’s perfect world is about to collapse around her. But Louise doesn’t react in the way Becca would expect her to on hearing of her husband’s death. And there are only three plates set out for dinner, as if Louise already knew Patrick wouldn’t be home that night… The more Becca digs, the more secrets she uncovers in the Bridges’ marriage – and the more she wonders just how far Louise would go to get what she wants… Is Louise a loving wife – or a cold-hearted killer? Readers LOVE The Perfect Widow! ‘LOVED this book! Fantastic read! I couldn't put it down. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘Drew me in from the start and just got better and better. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘Excellent twists… A gripping novel with brilliantly drawn characters and an ending I won't forget in a hurry. I can't wait to read more from this author!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘I couldn’t put it down. I think it is one of the best of this genre that I have read. The writing is excellent, with vivid descriptions, a painfully good understanding of human nature, and a sharp sense of humor. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘What a story. I read it in a day… You won’t be able to stop reading. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘I really enjoyed it and looked forward to reading it when I wasn’t!!!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars ‘What a great book. Would definitely recommend it. ’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

    The Oysterville Sewing Circle

    Susan Wiggs

    The #1 New York Times bestselling author brings us a searing and timely novel that explores the most volatile issue of our time—domestic violence. Caroline Shelby has come home to Oysterville. And in the backseat of Caroline's car are two children who were orphaned in a single chilling moment–five-year-old Addie and six-year-old Flick. She's now their legal guardian—a role she’s not sure she’s ready for. But Oysterville has changed. Her siblings have their own complicated lives and her aging parents are hoping to pass on their thriving restaurant to the next generation. And there's Will Jensen, a decorated Navy SEAL who's also returned home after being wounded overseas. Caroline is drawn back to her favorite place: the sewing shop owned by Mrs. Lindy Bloom, the woman who inspired her and taught her to sew. There she discovers that even in an idyllic beach town, there are women living with the darkest of secrets – and one of those women is her. Thus begins the Oysterville Sewing Circle, where Caroline finds the courage to stand and fight for everything—and everyone—she loves.

    The Orphan Thief

    Glynis Peters

    From the internationally bestselling author of The Secret Orphan When all seems lost… As Hitler’s bombs rain down on a battered and beleaguered Britain, Ruby Shadwell is dealt the most devastating blow – her entire family lost during the Coventry Blitz. Hope still survives… Alone and with the city in chaos, Ruby is determined to survive this war and rebuild her life. And a chance encounter with street urchin Tommy gives Ruby just the chance she needs. And love will overcome… Because Tommy brings with him Canadian Sergeant Jean-Paul Clayton. Jean-Paul is drawn to Ruby and wants to help her, but Ruby cannot bear another loss. Can love bloom amidst the ruins? Or will the war take Ruby’s last chance at happiness too? This is a sweeping historical romance filled with hope and resilience, perfect for fans of Christina Baker Kline, Soraya M. Lane and Shirley Dickson.

    The Nurse's Twin Surprise

    Sue MacKay

    Will this new beginning… …lead to her forever family? ER Nurse Molly O’Keefe is starting over! But she isn’t ready to let sexy Dr. Nathan Lupton into her life. Still reeling from her painful past, Molly isn’t sure she can trust her feelings – especially as Nathan wants a family she may not be able to give him. But then their irresistible temptation spills over – and results in a double baby surprise that could bond them together forever!

    The Nurse's Christmas Temptation

    Ann McIntosh

    She didn’t plan on celebrating Christmas…Can he change her mind? Nurse Harmony Kinkaid grabs the chance to spend Christmas working on a remote Scottish island. Without her beloved grandmother, the season won’t be the same. But her organized world is thrown off balance by her fierce attraction to daredevil Dr. Cameron MacRurie. He’s her complete opposite – she’d be foolish to fall for him. Yet as Christmas lights begin to shine, Cam becomes a temptation impossible to ignore…

    The Nanny's Secret Baby

    Lee McClain Tobin

    What she knows will change everything… at Redemption Ranch Arianna Shrader’s new nanny gig is more than a job—it’s an opportunity to bond with the infant boy she gave up to her sister for adoption. But widower Jack DeMoise doesn’t know she’s not just his child’s aunt. As Arianna grows closer to the ranch veterinarian and his son, can she find a way to reveal her secret…and become a permanent part of their family?