HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    Half of a Yellow Sun

    Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

    WINNER OF THE BAILEYS PRIZE BEST OF THE BESTWinner of the Orange Broadband Prize for Fiction 2007, this is a heartbreaking, exquisitely written literary masterpieceUgwu, a boy from a poor village, works as a houseboy for a university professor. Olanna, a young woman, has abandoned her life of privilege in Lagos to live with her charismatic new lover, the professor. And Richard, a shy English writer, is in thrall to Olanna’s enigmatic twin sister. As the horrific Biafran War engulfs them, they are thrown together and pulled apart in ways they had never imagined.Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s masterpiece, winner of the Orange Prize for Fiction, is a novel about Africa in a wider sense: about the end of colonialism, ethnic allegiances, class and race – and about the ways in which love can complicate all of these things.

    Journey’s End

    Josephine Cox

    Following the fortunes of the much-loved characters from her bestseller ‘The Journey’, Josephine Cox’s powerful novel spans continents, decades and generations of one family.Like a ghost from the past, she walked along the platform towards them…It has been over twenty years since Vicky Maitland set foot on English soil. Twenty years since she left Liverpool with her three children, bound for a new life in America, leaving her beloved husband Barney behind.But this long journey home is the hardest of all. She is here in search of the truth, afraid of what she may find. Why did Barney turn against his family so suddenly, so cruelly? Only her old friend Lucy Baker knows what happened. And Lucy promised Barney she would never tell his secret. Is it time she broke her silence and explained the events of so long ago?

    Wolf Hall

    Hilary Mantel

    Winner of the Man Booker PrizeShortlisted for the the Orange PrizeShortlisted for the Costa Novel Award`Dizzyingly, dazzlingly good' Daily Mail‘Our most brilliant English writer’GuardianEngland, the 1520s. Henry VIII is on the throne, but has no heir. Cardinal Wolsey is his chief advisor, charged with securing the divorce the pope refuses to grant. Into this atmosphere of distrust and need comes Thomas Cromwell, first as Wolsey's clerk, and later his successor.Cromwell is a wholly original man: the son of a brutal blacksmith, a political genius, a briber, a charmer, a bully, a man with a delicate and deadly expertise in manipulating people and events. Ruthless in pursuit of his own interests, he is as ambitious in his wider politics as he is for himself. His reforming agenda is carried out in the grip of a self-interested parliament and a king who fluctuates between romantic passions and murderous rages.From one of our finest living writers, Wolf Hall is that very rare thing: a truly great English novel, one that explores the intersection of individual psychology and wider politics. With a vast array of characters, and richly overflowing with incident, it peels back history to show us Tudor England as a half-made society, moulding itself with great passion and suffering and courage.

    Sacrilege

    S. J. Parris

    The No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling seriesThe third book in S. J. Parris’s bestselling, critically acclaimed series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth ILondon, 1584. Giordano Bruno travels to Canterbury for love. But finds only murder …Giordano Bruno is being followed by the woman he once loved – Sophia Underhill, accused of murder and on the run. With the leave of the Queen’s spymaster, he sets out to clear Sophia’s name. But when more brutal killings occur a far deadlier plot emerges.A city rife with treachery. A relic steeped in blood.His hunt for the real killer leads to the shadows of the Cathedral – England’s holiest shrine – and the heart of a sinister and powerful conspiracy …Heretic, maverick, charmer: Giordano Bruno is always on his guard. Never more so than when working for Queen Elizabeth and her spymaster – for this man of letters is now an agent of intrigue and danger …Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary MantelPraise for S. J. Parris‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer‘Vivid, sprawling … Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

    The Lords of the North

    Bernard Cornwell

    BBC2’s major TV series THE LAST KINGDOM is based on Bernard Cornwell’s bestselling novels on the making of England and the fate of his great hero, Uhtred of Bebbanburg. THE LORDS OF THE NORTH is the third book in the series.Season 2 of the epic TV series premiers this March.Uhtred wants revenge. He wants the land and castle that is his. He wants his treacherous uncle to pay for taking them.Heading north with his lover, former nun Hild, he finds chaos as the Vikings battle among themselves to consolidate their hold on the region. At the heart of it are men from Uhtred’s past – Sven the One-Eyed and Kjartan the Cruel, men of vicious reputation. Still, he has matched such men before.Then Uhtred suffers a betrayal to rival the treachery that deprived him of his birthright. It will leave him trapped with no hope of escape …Uhtred of Bebbanburg’s mind is as sharp as his sword. A thorn in the side of the priests and nobles who shape his fate, this Saxon raised by Vikings is torn between the life he loves and the cause he has sworn to serve.

    Trained To Defend

    Christy Barritt

    “Take Buzz and run. Far away. …and don’t trust the police.”Framed for her boss’s murder, Sarah Peterson is on the run—with only her boss’s loyal husky, Buzz, for protection. To clear her name and keep her safe, she must rely on her ex-fiancé, former detective Colton Hawk. The police aren’t the only ones searching for Sarah and the brave dog…the real killer is on the hunt, determined to silence them for good.

    She

    HC Warner

    ‘Brutal and brilliant, this novel will leave you breathless’ Adele ParksShe’s everything he dreamed of. Isn’t she?Ben can’t believe his luck when Bella walks into his life, just when he needs her most. Sexy, impulsive and intelligent, Bella is everything he ever wanted. And Bella wants him. All to herself.In fact, Bella decides that everything is better when it is just the two of them, making it harder for Ben’s friends and family to stay in touch. And then a sudden tragedy triggers a chain of events which throws Ben headlong into a nightmare.Secrets, lies, vengeance and betrayal are at the heart of this utterly twisted story about a family that is destroyed when SHE becomes part of it…Praise for SHE:‘Brutal and brilliant, this novel will leave you breathless’ Adele Parks'SHE is a dark and delicious guessing game, designed to be read with the same relish as it is told. I gobbled up the story of the villainous Bella and her destruction of her husband Ben’s world in less than a day. Addictive stuff' Louise Candlish

    If I Never Met You

    Mhairi McFarlane

    If faking love is this easy… how do you know when it’s real?The brand new novel from Sunday Times bestselling author Mhairi McFarlaneLaurie and Jamie have the perfect office romance (They set the rules via email)Everyone can see they’re head over heels (They staged the photos)This must be true love (They’re faking it)When Laurie is dumped by her partner of eighteen years, she’s blindsided. Not only does she feel humiliated, they still have to work together.So when she gets stuck in the lift with handsome colleague Jamie, they hatch a plan to stage the perfect romance. Revenge will be sweet…But this fauxmance is about to get complicated. You can’t break your heart in a fake relationship – can you?

    A Forever Family Collection

    Коллектив авторов

    A Forever Families Collection from Mills & Boon A collection of romance stories from Mills & Boon on adoption and happy ever after…

    Secret Heirs Collection

    Коллектив авторов

    A Collection of Mills & Boon Secret Heirs Anthologies The Secret Heirs Collection from Mills & Boon