HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    How to Rob a Bank

    Tom Mitchell

    A life of crime – how hard can it be? A funny, filmic and fast-paced crime-caper.When fifteen-year-old Dylan accidentally burns down the house of the girl he’s trying to impress, he feels that only a bold gesture can make it up to her. A gesture like robbing a bank to pay for her new home. Only an unwanted Saturday job, a tyrannical bank manager, and his unfinished history homework lie between Dylan and the heist of century. And really, what’s the worst that could happen?A funny, filmic and ill-advised crime caper.

    How to Be an Epicurean

    Catherine Wilson

    ‘Pleasure should be the basis of all our decisions’: so said the Epicureans. But there’s more to this school of thought than fine wine, rich food and great sex aplenty.Epicureanism is often misguidedly equated with hedonism. But this rational and humane philosophy offers and advocates so much more than opulent self-indulgence. Instead, this school of thought encourages a life free from anxiety, stresses the importance of friendship, and champions knowledge as one of the greatest pleasures. Join Professor Catherine Wilson on a journey to the heart of Epicurean sentiment and discover a framework through which we can lead richer, more fulfilling lives.Grappling with some of life’s biggest questions along the way, Catherine reveals the Epicurean approach to life’s fundamental questions: What is the purpose of morality? How best to tackle love and relationships? What is the meaning of life? How should you cope with death? All within the aim of thoughtfully pursuing long-term pleasure in its various forms, Epicureanism reveals a more immediate and practical answer these seemly intangible dilemmas.Drawing on a wellspring of ancient philosophy, harnessed and repurposed for a contemporary audience, How to be an Epicurean offers a timely guide for modern living that advocates the importance of maintaining friendships; the benefits of working alone; creating time for personal reflection and growth; and many more things besides.

    Hello, My Name is May

    Rosalind Stopps

    They wrote it on the wall above my bed. Hello, it said, my name is May. Please talk to me.May has been moved to a care home after her stroke. She can’t communicate, all her words are kept inside. If she tries to point, her arms swing in wild directions, if she tries to talk, strange noises come out of her mouth.May is sharp, quick, and funny, but only her daughter Jenny sees this, and Jackie, a new friend at the home who cares enough to look and listen closely.When May discovers that someone very familiar, from long ago, is living in the room opposite hers she is haunted by scenes from her earlier life, when she was a prisoner of her husband’s unpredictable rages. Bill, the man in the opposite room seems so much like her husband, though almost a lifetime has passed, and May’s eyesight isn’t what it was.As Bill charms his way through the nursing home, he focuses his romantic attention on Jackie, while all May can do is watch. She is determined to protect Jackie and keep herself safe, but what can she do in her vulnerable, silent state?

    Green and Prosperous Land

    Dieter Helm

    An economist's approach to environmentalism, including a summary of Britain's green assets, a look towards possible futures, and an acheivable 25-year plan to a green and prosperous world.Current methods of environmental protection in Britain are failing, and our species and habitats are in constant decline. It's time for a new approach, and Dieter Helm offers a bold, generational plan, which assesses the environment as a whole, explains the necessity of protecting and enhancing our green spaces, and offers a clear, economically viable 25-year plan to put Britain on a greener path.Leaving behind the current sterile and ineffective battle between the environment and the economy, Helm's revolutionary plan champions the integration of the economy and the environment together to enhance sustainable economic growth.

    Gemini 2020: Your Personal Horoscope

    Joseph Polansky

    Your guide to the year 2020. This fantastic book includes month-by-month forecasts and all you need to know to find out what is in store for you in the year ahead.The only horoscope you’ll ever need.Your essential guide to love, life and career success in 2020.This popular guide contains all you need to know about your personal horoscope for the year 2020. Be prepared for the forthcoming year with monthly predictions for your sign and discover how to maximise your opportunities and potential to make the most of 2020.This bestselling astrological guide contains:• A personality profile• A forecast for the year ahead – what you can expect in terms of wealth, home, health, social and love life• A month-by-month forecast of your best days and worst days – the ideal days to attract love, money or success, and when it’s better to just stay in bed!Joseph Polansky is a leading US astrologer who has been practising astrology for over 20 years.

    Gemini 2019: Your Personal Horoscope

    Joseph Polansky

    Your guide to the year 2019. This fantastic book includes month-by-month forecasts and all you need to know to find out what is in store for you in the year ahead.The only horoscope you’ll ever need.Your essential guide to love, life and career success in 2019.This popular guide contains all you need to know about your personal horoscope for the year 2019. Be prepared for the forthcoming year with monthly predictions for your sign and discover how to maximise your opportunities and potential to make the most of 2019.This bestselling astrological guide contains:• A personality profile• A forecast for the year ahead – what you can expect in terms of wealth, home, health, social and love life• A month-by-month forecast of your best days and worst days – the ideal days to attract love, money or success, and when it’s better to just stay in bed!Joseph Polansky is a leading US astrologer who has been practising astrology for over 20 years.

    Favourite Daughter

    Kaira Rouda

    ‘Addictive, suspenseful and full of dark secrets!’ Michele Campbell, Sunday Times bestselling author of It’s Always the Husband‘A chilling glimpse behind the facade of the perfect family’ Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs ParrishOne of them lied. One of them died.Jane’s life has become a haze of antidepressants since the tragic death of her daughter, Mary. The accident, which happened over a year ago now, destroyed their perfect family life forever.The trouble is, the more Jane thinks about that night, the more she realises that something doesn’t seem right. Does her youngest daughter know more than she’s letting on? What secrets is her husband still hiding from her? And why does no one trust her to be on her own?Even if it’s the last thing she does, she’ll find out the truth…Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Shari Lapena.

    Heartbreaker

    Claudia Dey

    A missing mother. An isolated community. Three storytellers you will never forget.For fans of The Water Cure and The Girls‘A dark star of a book’ LAUREN GROFF‘I loved its every page’ SHEILA HETIOn yet another freezing day, mother Billie Jean walks out of the house barefoot and drives off never to be heard of again.But no one arrives and no one leaves The Territory, a community cut off from the rest of Canada, a place warped by its own strange ways and stuck in the 1980s. Here they live off their own rules.Three glittering and wild characters hold the pieces of the puzzle of this small community that once welcomed this lost woman, only to break her.Welcome to the strange magic of Heartbreaker.‘Behold the virtuosity of Heartbreaker! Claudia Dey has a perfect ear and the sharpest eye. Her portrait of Pony Darlene Fontaine, and the strange world she inhabits, is devastating, unsparing and unforgettable’ MIRIAM TOEWS, author of All My Puny Sorrows‘Beautiful… A perfect balancing act of dark and light’CLAIRE CAMERON author of The Bear‘Heartbreaker makes high and hilarious art from the emotional pop-rocks and glittery junk of a certain way of being young. And vulnerable. Also, it has one of the most awesome dogs in literature. A thrillingly fun and original novel’ RIVKA GALCHEN author of American Innovations

    Northanger Abbey

    Val McDermid

    Jane Austen in the hands of queen of crime, Val McDermid. Get ready for a very different Northanger Abbey.Seventeen-year-old Catherine ‘Cat’ Morland has led a sheltered existence in rural Dorset, a life entirely bereft of the romance and excitement for which she yearns. So when Cat’s wealthy neighbours, the Allens, invite her to Edinburgh Festival, she is sure adventure beckons.Edinburgh initially offers no such thrills: Susie Allen is obsessed by shopping, Andrew Allen by the Fringe. A Highland Dance class, though, brings Cat a new acquaintance: Henry Tilney, a pale, dark-eyed gentleman whose family home, Northanger Abbey, sounds perfectly thrilling. And an introduction to Bella Thorpe, who shares her passion for supernatural novels, provides Cat with a like-minded friend. But with Bella comes her brother John, an obnoxious banker whose vulgar behaviour seems designed to thwart Cat’s growing fondness for Henry.Happily, rescue is at hand. The rigidly formal General Tilney invites her to stay at Northanger with son Henry and daughter Eleanor. Cat’s imagination runs riot: an ancient abbey, crumbling turrets, secret chambers, ghosts…and Henry! What could be more deliciously romantic?But Cat gets far more than she bargained for in this isolated corner of the Scottish Borders. The real world outside the pages of a novel proves to be altogether more disturbing than the imagined world within…

    Little Darlings

    Melanie Golding

    ‘Chilling story, beautiful prose. Little Darlings is stunning’ Clare MackintoshLeila Slimani’s Lullaby meets Rosemary’s Baby in the most unsettling book of the year.THE TWINS ARE CRYING.THE TWINS ARE HUNGRY.LAUREN IS CRYING.LAUREN IS EXHAUSTED.Behind the hospital curtain, someone is waiting . . .After a traumatic birth, Lauren is alone on the maternity ward with her newborn twins. Her husband has gone home. The nurses are doing their rounds. She can’t stop thinking about every danger her babies now face. But all new mothers think like that. Don’t they?A terrifying encounter in the middle of the night leaves Lauren convinced someone or something is trying to steal her children. But with every step she takes to keep her babies safe, Lauren sinks deeper and deeper into paranoia and fear. From the stark loneliness of returning home after birth, to the confines of a psychiatric unit, Lauren’s desperation increases as no one will listen to her. But here’s the question: is she mad, or does she know something we don’t?Loosely inspired by the ghostly folktale The Brewery of Eggshells, where a mother becomes convinced her twins are in danger, Little Darlings offers a fresh perspective on modern motherhood, postnatal psychosis and the roles women play. It has always been thus: folk tales do not spring from whimsy; they warn us and teach us, and speak to the fear in us all.