HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    We Are Not Okay

    Natália Gomes

    13 Reasons Why meets John Green and Jennifer Niven in We Are Not Ok – a powerful novel about what happens when girls are silenced.If only they could have spoken out. Lucy thinks she’s better than the other girls.Maybe if she’s pointing fingers at everyone else, no one will see the secret she’s hiding.Ulana comes from a conservative Muslim family where reputation is everything. One rumour -true or false – can destroy futures.Trina likes to party. She’s kissed a lot of boys. She’s even shown her red bra to one. But she didn’t consent to thatnight at Lucy’s party. So why doesn’t anyone believeher?Sophia loved her boyfriend. She did anything for him, even send him photos of herself. So why is she the one being pointed at in the hallways, laughed at, spat at when it was him who betrayed her trust?

    Wave Me Goodbye

    Ruby Jackson

    A compelling story of tragedy and triumph in WWII -the second in a series of books featuring four young women whose lives will be forever changed by the war. Perfect for fans of Katie Flynn and Annie Groves.When war is declared, four plucky girls from Dartford – Grace, Sally, Rose and Daisy – are keen to do their bit on the Home Front.For orphan Grace, it’s a chance to start afresh. She’s always has a soft spot for Sam Petrie, brother of Daisy and Rose, but realising that he is in love with their friend Sally, she puts her own feelings aside, and signs up for life as a Land Girl.Mucking out and early morning milking come as a big shock and life is harder than she expected. But Grace is nothing if not determined and though their lives will never be the same again, the four girls know they will always have each other – no matter what the war throws at them…

    Waiting for Robert Capa

    Susana Fortes

    A gorgeously written, ENGLISH PATIENT-style novel about the real-life romance between the war photographers Robert Capa and Gerda Taro during the Spanish Civil War. Optioned to be the next film by Michael Mann (PUBLIC ENEMIES, THE INSIDER, MANHUNTER, COLLATERAL).Love, war and photography marked their lives. They were young, anti-Fascist, good-looking, and nonconformist. They had everything in life, and they put everything at risk. They created their own legend and remained faithful to it until the very end…A young German woman named Gerta Pohorylle and a young Hungarian man named Endre Friedmann meet in Paris in 1935. Both Communists, Jewish, exiled, and photographers, they decide to change their names in order to sell their work more easily, and so they become Gerda Taro and Robert Capa. With these new identities, they travel to Spain and begin to document the Spanish Civil War. Two years later, tragedy will befall them – but until then, theirs is a romance for the ages.Based on the true story of these legendary figures and set to be the next film by award-winning director Michael Mann, WAITING FOR ROBERT CAPA is a moving tribute to all journalists and photographers who lose their lives to show us the world's daily transformations.

    Virgo 2020: Your Personal Horoscope

    Joseph Polansky

    Your guide to the year 2020. This fantastic book includes month-by-month forecasts and all you need to know to find out what is in store for you in the year ahead.The only horoscope you’ll ever need.Your essential guide to love, life and career success in 2020.This popular guide contains all you need to know about your personal horoscope for the year 2020. Be prepared for the forthcoming year with monthly predictions for your sign and discover how to maximise your opportunities and potential to make the most of 2020.This bestselling astrological guide contains:• A personality profile• A forecast for the year ahead – what you can expect in terms of wealth, home, health, social and love life• A month-by-month forecast of your best days and worst days – the ideal days to attract love, money or success, and when it’s better to just stay in bed!Joseph Polansky is a leading US astrologer who has been practising astrology for over 20 years.

    Virgo 2019: Your Personal Horoscope

    Joseph Polansky

    Your guide to the year 2019. This fantastic book includes month-by-month forecasts and all you need to know to find out what is in store for you in the year ahead.The only horoscope you’ll ever need.Your essential guide to love, life and career success in 2019.This popular guide contains all you need to know about your personal horoscope for the year 2019. Be prepared for the forthcoming year with monthly predictions for your sign and discover how to maximise your opportunities and potential to make the most of 2019.This bestselling astrological guide contains:• A personality profile• A forecast for the year ahead – what you can expect in terms of wealth, home, health, social and love life• A month-by-month forecast of your best days and worst days – the ideal days to attract love, money or success, and when it’s better to just stay in bed!Joseph Polansky is a leading US astrologer who has been practising astrology for over 20 years.

    Viking London

    Thomas Williams

    Viking Britain author Thomas Williams returns with a brief history of the interaction between the Vikings and the British to tell the story of the occupation of London.Nowhere in England suffered more Viking aggression than London. Between 842 and 1016, the city was subjected to serious assault on at least a dozen separate occasions. Sometimes, she burned and sometimes she surrendered, mostly she stood firm when all others had given up hope; and throughout it all she endured, remaking and remodelling herself, growing strong in adversity, unique in economic power, a crucible of cultures, enterprise and political intrigue: a maker of kings, and – ultimately – their capital.London is a city of spectres, of ghosts walking in the footsteps of other ghosts, and the Viking Age is perhaps its most forgotten shadowland. Memories shimmer through the alluvium and radiate through the pores of Museum collections, street names and stories. Viking London is a short book of the hidden history, archaeology and folklore of London in the Viking Age and its echoes through history. The narrative history that can be told is limited, and this book is, therefore, unorthodox and digressive in its structure and its layering of voices, impressions and characters, stories, objects and buildings.Thomas Williams treats the city as a living, breathing entity, one peopled with individuals shaped and warped by the forces that the urban environment exerts on its inhabitants. In this case, however, it is the forgotten ghosts of the Viking Age that provide the gravitational force – the shaping and distorting mass at the city’s heart.

    Uprooted - A Canadian War Story

    Lynne Banks Reid

    From the author of The Indian in the Cupboard and The L-Shaped Room comes a fascinating story of a wartime childhood, heavily influenced by her own experience.In 1940 as war rages across Europe, ten-year-old Lindy, waves goodbye to England and makes the long journey to Saskatoon, Canada, along with her Mother and her cousin Cameron. They may be far from the war but they are also far from home and everyone they know and love. Life in Canada is very different but it is also full of exciting new adventures…This captivating story is inspired by Lynne Reid Banks’ own childhood experience and her time in Canada.

    Untitled Adam Baron 2

    Adam Baron

    Under a Sardinian Sky

    Sara Alexander

    Sometimes a family’s deepest silences hide the most important secrets.Carmela disappeared from her Italian hometown long ago and is mentioned only in fragments and whispers. Mina has resisted prying, respectful of her family’s Sardinian reserve. But now, with her mother battling cancer, it’s time to learn the truth.In 1952, Simius is a busy Sardinian town surrounded by fertile farms and orchards. Carmela Chirigoni, a farmer’s daughter and talented seamstress, is engaged to Franco, son of the area’s wealthiest family. Everyone agrees it’s a good match. But Carmela’s growing doubts about Franco’s possessiveness are magnified when she meets Captain Joe Kavanagh.Joe, an American officer stationed at a local army base, is charismatic, intelligent, and married. Hired as his interpreter, Carmela resolves to ignore her feelings, knowing that any future together must bring upheaval and heartache to both families.As Mina follows the threads of Carmela’s life to uncover her fate, she will discover a past still deeply alive in the present, revealing a story of hope, sacrifice, and extraordinary love.

    Uncover Me

    AM Hartnett

    The photos are becoming a compulsion for Carrie. As soon as she wakes up, she feels the need to engage with the readers of her erotic website, Dirty Pictures. No matter how hard she tries to focus on her real life the need is always there. The high is knowing that men desire her.One day a comment on her erotic website makes Carrie go cold: one of her readers, Brendan, has recognised a landmark in the window of one of her pictures. Brendan knows where to find her and has sent a tantalising private message. His invitation to play was so tempting in no time at all, in a variety of settings, their sensual adventures become wild. Her sexual and emotional reawakening reaches peaks she never imagined possible.But Carrie finds it difficult to treat their relationship as casual. Terrified of heartbreak, she breaks off her affair with Brendan. Her previous relationship left her in tatters and she’s too scared to take such a chance again. Brendan endured a broken marriage so she’s not alone in her confusion and reticence. But can Carrie ever hope to be more than his fantasy girl?