The Sign of the Four. Arthur Conan Doyle


Скачать книгу
Читать онлайн

The Sign of the Four

Год выпуска 0

isbn 9783746744605

Автор произведения Arthur Conan Doyle

Жанр Языкознание


Издательство Bookwire

This is Book 2 of the series «The Chronological Sherlock Holmes».
"The Sign of the Four" (1890), also called «The Sign of Four», is the second novel featuring Sherlock Holmes written by Sir Arthur Conan Doyle. Doyle wrote four novels and 56 stories starring the fictional detective. The story is set in 1888. «The Sign of the Four» has a complex plot involving service in East India Company, India, the Indian Rebellion of 1857, a stolen treasure, and a secret pact among four convicts («the Four» of the title) and two corrupt prison guards. It presents the detective's drug habit and humanizes him in a way that had not been done in the preceding novel «A Study in Scarlet» (1887). It also introduces Doctor Watson's future wife, Mary Morstan.