Современная зарубежная литература

Различные книги в жанре Современная зарубежная литература

The Editor

Steven Rowley

A poignant, highly original novel about an author whose relationship with his very famous book editor will change him forever… ‘Told with warmth and humour – the story of a mother-son reconciliation, facilitated by a most unlikely fairy godmother…delightful’ Chloe Benjamin, author of The ImmortalistsAfter years of struggling as a writer in 1990s New York City, James Smale finally gets his big break when his novel sells to an editor at a major publishing house:none other than Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis. Jackie, or Mrs. Onassis as she's known in the office, loves James's candidly autobiographical novel, about his own dysfunctional family.As Jackie and James develop an unexpected friendship, she pushes him to write an authentic ending, encouraging him to confront the truth about his relationship with his mother. But when a long-held family secret is revealed, he realises his editor may have had a larger plan that goes beyond the page…

The Lost Properties of Love

Sophie Ratcliffe

This is a book about journeys and paths through life – those we choose to take and those we don’t. And the difficulties of taking those steps. It is set mostly on trains.Part memoir, part imagined history, in The Lost Properties of Love, Sophie Ratcliffe reflects on the realities of motherhood and marriage, revisits the experience of childhood bereavement, and muses on the messiness of everyday life.An extended train journey frames the action – and the author turns not to self-help manuals but to the fictions that have shaped our emotional and romantic landscape. Readers will find themselves propelled into Anna Karenina’s world of steam, commuting down the Northern Line with The Railway Children, and checking out a New York L-train with Anthony Trollope’s forgotten muse, Kate Field.As scenes in her own life collide with the stories of real and imaginary heroines, The Lost Properties of Love asks how we might find new ways of thinking about love and intimacy in the twenty-first century. Frank and painfully funny, this contemporary take on Brief Encounter is a compelling look at the workings of the human heart.

One Summer In Paris

Sarah Morgan

The next unmissable summer read from Sarah Morgan!Praise for Sarah Morgan:‘I laughed, I cried, I held my breath. I absolutely adored it’ Cathy Bramley‘Sarah Morgan just gets better and better’ Veronica HenryOne charming Left Bank bookshop, two unlikely friends, and a summer in Paris that will change their lives forever…Grace can’t believe it when her husband of twenty-five years announces he doesn’t want to join her on their anniversary trip to Paris – instead, he wants a divorce. Reeling from the shock, Grace makes the bold decision to go on this holiday of a lifetime alone.Audrey, a young woman from London, leaves behind heartache of her own when she arrives in Paris. A job in a bookshop is her ticket to freedom, and Audrey’s determined to enjoy every second of her adventure. But with no money, and no knowledge of the French language, suddenly a lonely summer spent wandering the cobbled streets seems much more likely… Until she meets Grace, and everything changes.Grace can’t believe how daring Audrey is. Audrey can’t believe how cautious newly single Grace is. Living in neighbouring apartments above the bookshop, these unlikely friends offer each other just what they’ve both been missing. They came to Paris to find themselves, but finding their friendship might be the best thing that's ever happened to them…

Lost Children Archive

Valeria Luiselli

The moving, powerful and urgent English-language debut from one of the brightest young stars in world literatureSuppose you and Pa were gone, and we were lost. What would happen then?A family in New York packs the car and sets out on a road trip. A mother, a father, a boy and a girl, they head south west, to the Apacheria, the regions of the US which used to be Mexico. They drive for hours through desert and mountains. They stop at diners when they’re hungry and sleep in motels when it gets dark. The little girl tells surreal knock knock jokes and makes them all laugh. The little boy educates them all and corrects them when they’re wrong. The mother and the father are barely speaking to each other.Meanwhile, thousands of children are journeying north, travelling to the US border from Central America and Mexico. A grandmother or aunt has packed a backpack for them, putting in a bible, one toy, some clean underwear. They have been met by a coyote: a man who speaks to them roughly and frightens them. They cross a river on rubber tubing and walk for days, saving whatever food and water they can. Then they climb to the top of a train and travel precariously in the open container on top. Not all of them will make it to the border.In a breath-taking feat of literary virtuosity, Lost Children Archive intertwines these two journeys to create a masterful novel full of echoes and reflections – a moving, powerful, urgent story about what it is to be human in an inhuman world.

Favourite Daughter

Kaira Rouda

‘Addictive, suspenseful and full of dark secrets!’ Michele Campbell, Sunday Times bestselling author of It’s Always the Husband‘A chilling glimpse behind the facade of the perfect family’ Liv Constantine, bestselling author of The Last Mrs ParrishOne of them lied. One of them died.Jane’s life has become a haze of antidepressants since the tragic death of her daughter, Mary. The accident, which happened over a year ago now, destroyed their perfect family life forever.The trouble is, the more Jane thinks about that night, the more she realises that something doesn’t seem right. Does her youngest daughter know more than she’s letting on? What secrets is her husband still hiding from her? And why does no one trust her to be on her own?Even if it’s the last thing she does, she’ll find out the truth…Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty and Shari Lapena.

Heartbreaker

Claudia Dey

A missing mother. An isolated community. Three storytellers you will never forget.For fans of The Water Cure and The Girls‘A dark star of a book’ LAUREN GROFF‘I loved its every page’ SHEILA HETIOn yet another freezing day, mother Billie Jean walks out of the house barefoot and drives off never to be heard of again.But no one arrives and no one leaves The Territory, a community cut off from the rest of Canada, a place warped by its own strange ways and stuck in the 1980s. Here they live off their own rules.Three glittering and wild characters hold the pieces of the puzzle of this small community that once welcomed this lost woman, only to break her.Welcome to the strange magic of Heartbreaker.‘Behold the virtuosity of Heartbreaker! Claudia Dey has a perfect ear and the sharpest eye. Her portrait of Pony Darlene Fontaine, and the strange world she inhabits, is devastating, unsparing and unforgettable’ MIRIAM TOEWS, author of All My Puny Sorrows‘Beautiful… A perfect balancing act of dark and light’CLAIRE CAMERON author of The Bear‘Heartbreaker makes high and hilarious art from the emotional pop-rocks and glittery junk of a certain way of being young. And vulnerable. Also, it has one of the most awesome dogs in literature. A thrillingly fun and original novel’ RIVKA GALCHEN author of American Innovations

Lessons in Love

Belinda Missen

Don’t miss the charmingly feel-good new book from the author of A Recipe for Disaster!Perfect for fans of Carole Mathews, Mhairi McFarlane and Carrie Hope Fletcher.

Just Between Us

Cathy Kelly

Another bestseller full of Cathy Kelly’s trademark warmth, romance, optimism and wit.Friends this good are hard to find…What’s the secret of the fabulous Miller girls?Everyone says that they lead charmed lives: successful lawyer and single mother Stella; TV writer Tara, and dreamy, artistic Holly.Their elegant mother Rose is about to celebrate her fortieth wedding anniversary to husband Hugh, and the Irish town on Kinvarra is looking forward to the celebrations.But as plans are made for the party, the three sisters and their mother start to reveal each of their secret heartaches to one another. Are they strong enough to deal with the truth about their golden lives?

No Place Like Home

Maxine Morrey

Don’t miss this heart-warming and uplifting romance! Pre-order now!Readers LOVE Maxine Morrey:‘'I’ve fallen head over heels for Maxine's writing style’‘I'm a big fan of Maxine's writing and I love how she is able to write lighthearted romantic comedies that have serious issues at their centre’‘I love Maxine Morrey's books’‘Hand on heart, I could read a Maxine Morrey novel every day of the week without getting bored.’‘I'm a big fan of Morrey's books’‘Maxine has this way of captivating her readers with charismatic and memorable characters’

I Know Who You Are

Alice Feeney

Praise for Alice Feeney:‘Marvellous’ A. J. Finn‘A bold and original voice’ Clare MackintoshAimee Sinclair: the actress everyone thinks they know but can’t remember where from.Except me. I know exactly where you’re from, who you are, what you’ve done.Your husband has gone missing and the police think you’re hiding something. You lie for a living, always pretending to be someone else. But that’s not new, is it?Because I know you lied before. You’ve always lied. And the lies we tell ourselves are always the most dangerous . . .This twisty new psychological thriller will leave your heart pounding and your pulse racing. From the bestselling author of Sometimes I Lie, this is a brilliantly told and expertly crafted novel you won’t be able to put down.