HarperCollins

Все книги издательства HarperCollins


    Maps and Legends

    Michael Chabon

    A collection of essays on books and why they matter by the Pulitzer Prize-winning writer of ‘The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay’ and ‘The Yiddish Policemen’s Union’.‘Maps and Legends’ is a love song in 16 parts – a series of linked essays in praise of reading and writing, with subjects running from ghost stories to comic books, Sherlock Holmes to Cormac McCarthy. Throughout, Chabon energetically argues for a return to the thrilling, chilling origins of storytelling, rejecting the false walls around 'serious' literature in favour of a wide-ranging affection. His own fiction, meanwhile, is explored from the perspective of personal history: post-collegiate desperation sparks his debut, ‘The Mysteries of Pittsburgh’; procrastination and doubt reveal the way toward ‘Wonder Boys’; a love of comics and a basement golem combine to create the Pulitzer Prize-winning ‘The Amazing Adventures of Kavalier & Clay’; and an enigmatic Yiddish phrasebook unfurls into ‘The Yiddish Policemen's Union’.

    Farther Away

    Джонатан Франзен

    Jonathan Franzen’s Freedom was the runaway most-discussed novel of 2010, an ambitious and searching engagement with life in America in the 21st century. The editor of The New York Times Book Review, Sam Tanenhaus, proclaimed it “a masterpiece of American fiction” and lauded its illumination, “through the steady radiance of its author’s profound moral intelligence, [of] the world we thought we knew.” Now, a new collection of Franzen’s non-fiction brings fresh evidence of that moral intelligence, confirming his status not only as a great American novelist but also as a master noticer, social critic, and self-investigator.In ‘Farther Away’, which gathers together essays and speeches written mostly in the past five years, the writer returns with renewed vigor to the themes, both human and literary, that have long preoccupied him. Whether recounting his violent encounter with bird poachers in Cyprus, examining his mixed feelings about the suicide of his friend and rival David Foster Wallace, or offering a moving and witty take on the ways that technology has changed how people express their love, these pieces deliver on Franzen’s implicit promise to conceal nothing from the reader. On a trip to China to see first-hand the environmental devastation there, he doesn’t omit to mention his excitement and awe at the pace of China’s economic development; the trip becomes a journey out of his own prejudice and moral condemnation. Taken together, these essays trace the progress of unique and mature mind wrestling with itself, with literature, and with some of the most important issues of our day. Farther Away is remarkable, provocative, and necessary.

    Kevin McCloud’s Principles of Home: Making a Place to Live

    Kevin McCloud

    A practical paperback edition of the landmark design manifesto from the UK’s favourite design guru.In this inspirational yet also practical paperback Kevin explores all areas of domestic living, from materialism to sustainability, craftsmanship to comfort. Kevin’s beautifully written text brings insight and understanding to enjoying life in the 21st century, but crucially he offers detailed, helpful and incisive advice on design, construction and style.Kevin addresses very real and solvable domestic issues: What is the perfect kitchen layout? How to create a feeling of space in traditionally sized rooms? How to create an extension that works? How best to choose colour for function? What to use for insulation? How to shop for second hand? And how best to manage home waste and recycling?An inspiring but always usable book from the foremost voice in modern architectural design.

    Kevin McCloud’s 43 Principles of Home: Enjoying Life in the 21st Century

    Kevin McCloud

    Kevin McCloud’s 43 Principles of Home represents a landmark piece of interiors publishing.In this lavish and inspirational yet also practical book Kevin explores all areas of domestic living, from materialism to sustainability, craftsmanship to comfort. In his witty, wide-ranging commentary on the way we live now, the things we have gained and lost, Kevin’s beautifully written text brings insight and understanding.Crucially, however, he also offers up his 43 principles of home life – each one addressing very real and solvable domestic issues. What is the perfect kitchen layout? How to create a feeling of space in traditionally sized rooms? How to create an extension that works? How best to choose colour for function? How do you create dynamic and enjoyable kids spaces? What to do with your empty fireplace? And how best to manage home waste and recycling?An inspiring but always usable book from the foremost voice in modern architectural design.

    The Millionaire's Agenda

    Kathryn Ross

    Self-made millionaire Steven Cavendish had enjoyed a purely professional relationship with his extremely efficient assistant, Chloe Brown. Until one unexpected night when work was forgotten in the heat of passion…However, Chloe had decided against any emotional involvement, so if Steven wanted her by his side and in his bed, he'd have to appeal to her business side. Steven's agenda was set. If a business deal was the only way to win her, that's the way he'd play it…but ultimately, Chloe would be his wife!

    The Midnight Foxes

    Sarah Lean

    Meet animal lover, Tiger Days! A brand-new young fiction series about animals, friendship and adventure by bestselling author Sarah Lean.Beautiful black-and-white illustrations throughout.When nine-year-old Tiger Days stays with her grandmother at Willowgate House she never knows what might happen… new friends to meet, animals to rescue and problems to solve!Tiger returns to Willowgate and discovers that a mysterious tunnel has appeared under the shed and someone – or something – has been burying eggs in the garden…Tiger and her friend Tom decides to become detectives – determined to crack the case! . At Willowgate House, no day is ever dull for Tiger!

    The Guilty Friend

    Joanne Sefton

    One of them is dead. One of them is lying.Alex, Karen and Misty were an inseparable trio at university. But when Alex died suddenly, the remaining two friends could no longer look each other in the eye, knowing they both had a part to play in her death.Thirty years later, Misty and Karen have long since moved on with their lives. But when Karen thinks she sees her former friend alive, she soon becomes obsessed with a past she thought she’d left behind.Before long, the perfect life she’s built for herself starts to unravel, and it seems as though history might just be repeating itself…Can Karen keep her secrets hidden? Or will her guilt tear an innocent family apart?A twisty and emotionally-charged suspense novel for fans of Lesley Kara’s The Rumour, Linda Green’s The Last Thing She Told Me and Teresa Driscoll’s The Promise.Reviews for Joanne Sefton:‘The plot will keep you guessing until the end, but the characters will stay with you for much longer.’ Jo Furniss, best-selling author of The Trailing Spouse and All The Little Children‘The last page was a true gut punch!’ Reader review‘Dark, suspenseful, gripping and overall a bloody good book!’ Reader review‘What a powerful book!!’ Reader review‘Very clever and really gripping. Highly recommended for psychological thriller fans.’ Reader review‘A great read from start to finish. Lots of twists and turns and unexpected outcomes.’ Reader review‘Grabs you from the first chapter and you can't put it down.’ Reader review‘A great read with fantastic characters.’ Reader review‘Gripping and moving.’ Reader review‘Keeps you intrigued throughout.’ Reader review‘Very intense and unique and enjoyable… superb ending.’ Reader reviewTrigger warning: This novel involves eating disorders and may be triggering for vulnerable readers.

    The Forgotten Gift

    Kathleen McGurl

    ‘Be ready to be wowed and amazed and lose sleep as you stay up to reach the last pages!… You absolutely must read it!’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 starsWhat would you do to protect the ones you love?1861. George’s life changes forever the day he meets Lucy. She’s beautiful and charming, and he sees a future with her that his position as the second son in a wealthy family has never offered him. But when Lucy dies in a suspected poisoning days after rejecting George, he finds himself swept up into a murder investigation. George loved Lucy; he would never have harmed her. So who did?Now. On the surface Cassie is happy with her life: a secure job, good friends, and a loving family. When a mysterious gift in a long-forgotten will leads her to a dark secret in her family’s history she’s desperate to learn more. But the secrets in Cassie’s family aren’t all hidden in the past, and her research will soon lead her to a revelation much closer to home – and which will turn everything she knows on its head…Discover a family’s darkest secrets today. Perfect for fans of The Girl in the Letter, The Beekeeper’s Promise and The Forgotten Village!Readers love The Forgotten Gift!‘Excellent… I read it in one fell swoop… Utterly engrossing and responsible for the fact that I went to bed well after my usual bedtime.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘Fast paced and very well written story… Impossible to put down… Loved it.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘The queen of dual timelines has done it again.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I was completely transfixed… Didn't want to put it down once I'd started it. It was finished within a day.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘The writing is fantastic. The pace fast. The plot gripping.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I enjoyed this book… The story of George had a perfect ending.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars‘I really liked this book… Well written and great character development.’ NetGalley reviewer, 5 stars

    An Outlaw's Christmas

    Linda Lael Miller

    Celebrate the holidays with a brand-new McKettrick tale by beloved #1 New York Times bestselling author Linda Lael MillerWith his wild heart, Sawyer McKettrick isn’t ready to settle down on the Triple M family ranch in Arizona. So he heads to Blue River, Texas, to seek a job as marshal. But in a blinding snowstorm he’s injured—and collapses into the arms of a prim and proper lady in calico.The shirtless, bandaged stranger recuperating in teacher Piper St. James’s room behind the schoolhouse says he’s a McKettrick, but he looks like an outlaw. As they wait out the storm, the handsome loner has Piper remembering long-ago dreams of marriage and motherhood.But for how long is Sawyer willing to call Blue River home? As the gray skies clear, Piper's one holiday wish just might bring two lonely hearts together forever.“Miller once again tells a memorable tale.” —RT Book Reviews on A Creed in Stone Creek

    The Housemaid’s Scandalous Secret

    Хелен Диксон

    ‘Your discretion and good behaviour would be most appreciated…’ Returning to Castonbury Park is just another job for Colonel Ross Montague. With his family in disarray, he promises to do his utmost to see order and decorum restored once more. That is until he’s sidetracked by the beguiling eyes of Castonbury’s newest maid –Lisette.An affair would be most improper…but when neither can deny their blazing desire, all society’s rules are discarded. So, in a house where gossip is rife, Lisette must try her best to keep her salacious liaison a secret…!