Зарубежный юмор

Различные книги в жанре Зарубежный юмор

A Miracle at Macy’s: There’s only one dog who can save Christmas

Lynn Hulsman Marie

‘A romantic, festive and feel-good book with loads of heart and a sprinkling of Christmas magic’ – Cressida McLaughlin, author of ‘A Christmas Tail’‘Christmas time or not, pick up this book. Lover of romance or not, pick up this book…It's captivating, comforting and a must read. I loved it.’ – Goodreads ReviewerOne lost dog. Two lonely hearts. A Manhattan Christmas full of magic.Shy homebody Charlotte is planning her usual quiet Christmas celebration: Turkey for two for her and her beloved pet dog Hudson. Only, this year, little Hudson decides to take matters into his own paws and give his favourite human a holiday adventure she’ll never forget.When Hudson runs away the week before Christmas, Charlotte is devastated. She’d rescued him from the trash years before and gave him a place in her home – and her heart. But with the help of uptight Englishman Henry, Charlotte ends up on a magical treasure hunt around Manhattan to find her furry, four-legged bestie.Spotted in Central Park as one of Santa's Little Helpers, or last seen in the arms of a supermodel in Times Square, Hudson leads Charlotte and Henry on a very merry dance around the Big Apple, where love, (or should that be Christmas?!) actually is all around.'Marley & Me' meets 'When Harry Met Sally'!‘Easily one of my most enjoyed Christmas books of the season' – Rachel's Random Reads

A Girl’s Guide to Kissing Frogs

Victoria Clayton

A Girl's Guide to Kissing Frogs is a charming, witty book, perfect for fans of Elizabeth Noble and Marian Keyes.A girl may have to kiss a lot of frogs before she finds her Prince Charming but Marigold has found herself a real toad. As a principal dancer at the Lenoir Ballet Company, she is on her way to becoming a Prima Ballerina.But, when a painful fall sends her limping home to Northumberland to recuperate, Marigold fears that this could mean the end to her dreams. Luckily, her childhood friend, Rafe, who is just as delicious as she remembers him, is ready and waiting to sweep her off her feet. But, is there a handsome stranger waiting in the wings?

Do You Remember the First Time?

Jenny Colgan

Life doesn’t have a rewind button. Ever wished it did?Flora’s wish is about to come true, in a magical new novel about the ultimate second chance, from the bestselling author of WORKING WONDERS and AMANDA’S WEDDING.As her best friend Tashy cuts into her wedding cake, 32-year-old Flora realises she is disillusioned with life. Suddenly, her well-paid job, cosy flat and stable relationship with sensible Olly don't amount to a whole lot. Flora wants to be 16 again. She closes her eyes and wishes. Her wish has come true.Waking up the next morning is a shock. But now Flora has the chance to right some wrongs. Trading crows feet for pimples, love handles for a torso Britney Spears would kill for and dull dinner parties for house parties where White Lightning and snogging are the order of the day, Flora revels in a life where things are far less complicated and just much more… FUN.It's not all laughs though. Will what she does change the future? How can she get back to the present and her ordinary life? And does she even want to?

Be Careful What You Wish For

Martina Devlin

From the author of THREE WISE MEN, a wise, funny and uplifiting novel of women, men, love and friendship.Have you ever had a secret you couldn't even tell your very best friend?Molly and Helen have been friends for ever – well, since university in Dublin. Now in their thirties, they have successful careers, go everywhere together, share everything – or so it seems.Outgoing Molly is wistfully thinking it would be nice to meet a man who'd make her want to bolt to the altar at breakneck speed, when she finds herself juggling two. There's Fionn, her renegade ex, returned from a failed marriage to woo her (to Helen's disapproval), and gorgeous Georgie who runs the local off-licence.Helen, meanwhile, is steadfastly against long term relationships. So Molly is astonished when Helen confides that she's fallen in love with someone she shouldn't have, so head-over-heels that resistance is futile – but she won't tell Molly who it is.

A Few Little Lies

Sue Welfare

Sue Welfare’s first novel of modern manners, now available as an ebook.There are two ways to make sex pay. One is illegal and the other can land you in a whole lot of trouble.When writer Dora Hall’s erotic novels become successful, her agent decides to cash in with a promotional tour. Unfortunately Dora’s career is her best-kept secret, and so she is delighted when he hires a glamorous stand-in. Predatory blonde Lillian Bliss fulfils everyone’s criteria; she’s a walking sexual adventure, lapping up media attention and making it all look wonderfully simple – until she starts to deviate from Dora’s carefully written script.Chaos descends upon the small Norfolk town, local celebrities and politicians scrabble frantically to hide their seedy pasts and Dora’s cover is completely blown. What began with a few little lies turns into a spectacular slice of mayhem in this wickedly witty and warm debut from a tremendously talented writer.

A Cornish Carol: A Short Story

Fern Britton

A wise and witty short story that is full of Christmas cheer from the best-selling author and TV presenter, Fern Britton.This will be one Christmas they’ll never forget…Piran Ambrose is the epitome of brooding male. But Pendruggan’s Mr Rochester is in danger of becoming its Ebeneezer Scrooge when he is driven to distraction by the villager’s over-the-top Christmas celebrations. How could the cringeworthy amateur village production of Aladdin bring seasonal cheer to anyone, he wonders? And do the village children really have to arrive at his cottage door every single night in December with their terrible recorders and discordant singing?But when Piran’s bad temper risks spoiling Christmas for everyone, something drastic needs to be done. So, over one Christmas Eve, three very special people pay Piran a visit, determined to show him what Christmas is really all about…

A Christmas Tail: A heart-warming Christmas romance

Cressida McLaughlin

A heart-warming Christmas read, perfect for fans of Debbie Johnson, Trisha Ashley and Jenny Oliver and one for dog-lovers everywhere.Walkies in a Winter Wonderland…Catherine ‘Cat’ Palmer realizes that bringing an adorable puppy into work is a bad idea when it gets her the sack. Deciding it’s the perfect opportunity to launch her dog-walking business, Cat enlists the help of flatmates Polly and Joe. After all Primrose Terrace, the street where they live, is full of home-alone hounds.Getting to know the owners and their precious pooches isn’t all plain sailing, but soon Cat is making friends, particularly with sexy Mark and his Collie, Chips. With her talent for misadventure, Cat’s new life starts to show some cracks, and when one of the street’s loveable schnauzers gets ill, it looks like this Christmas could be turning into a dog’s dinner. But Cat has never given up on anything in her life – and this is one Christmas that’s definitely worth saving…A Christmas Tail was first published as a four-part serial set in Primrose Terrace.

Who Needs Men Anyway?: A perfect feel-good romantic comedy filled with sass

Victoria Cooke

*The #1 Digital Bestseller!*‘Funny and poignant with a gloriously realistic cast of characters. I followed Charlotte's journey avidly, cheering her on all the way. An unputdownable read.’Rachel Burton, author of The Many Colours of UsDon’t get mad, get even…Thirty-something Charlotte’s Emsworth’s life is a sickeningly perfect round of charity events, hot yoga, and romantic gestures for sexy lawyer husband James. But, patiently waiting to get pregnant, Charlotte is bored. And when she’s bored, she has a tendency to meddle…First, it’s her personal trainer Megan’s cheating fiancé, then the gardener Sam’s wife’s ‘late nights at the office’. But soon the meddling, however well-intentioned, lands Charlotte in way over her head, and all the time spent ‘managing’ other people’s lives makes her blind to the cracks appearing in her own…Getting even is one thing, but what about getting happy?Perfect for fans of The First Wives Club…Readers love Victoria Cooke:“It had all the drama, laughs, twists, and touch of romance I love in a book”“Loved this book!”“Brilliant writing kept me enthralled to the end”“Loved this book , I could not put it down”“I think this is her best book yet!”“A fabulously fun and laugh out loud novel”

Three Things About Elsie: A Richard and Judy Book Club Pick 2018

Joanna Cannon

The Sunday Times Bestseller‘Lovely, lovely, lovely… Sue Townsend meets Kate Atkinson meets Nina Stibbe’ MARIAN KEYES‘Powerful and profound’ Guardian‘Another sure-fire hit’ Daily Mail‘Funny, melancholy, acutely observant’ Sunday Express84-year-old Florence has fallen in her flat at Cherry Tree Home for the Elderly. As she waits to be rescued, she considers the charming new resident who looks exactly like a man she once knew – a man who died sixty years ago. His arrival has stirred distant memories she and Elsie thought they’d laid to rest. Lying prone in the front room, Florence wonders if a terrible secret from her past is about to come to light …

Sunshine on a Rainy Day: A funny, feel-good romantic comedy

Bryony Fraser

A hilarious and heartbreaking read, for anyone whose life hasn’t quite gone to plan… The only book that fans of BRIDGET JONES and MARIAN KEYES need.‘If you enjoyed One Day, you’ll love this.’ Reader reviewIt’s Zoe and Jack’s first wedding anniversary party. They’ve got an announcement! They’re getting divorced…Marriage isn’t for everyone – something that Zoe and Jack discovered only after they’d walked down the aisle. Bad timing, huh? So now they’re stuck together in their once harmonious marital home, neither one of them willing to move out of their lovely house.With Zoe’s three sisters always wanting a say, and Jack’s best friend trying his best to fix things between them, misunderstandings arise. Tempers flare. ‘Accidents’ happen…Zoe and Jack are going to be lucky if they’re still alive when the twelve months are up. But maybe things aren’t quite as final as they seem?What readers are saying about Sunshine on a Rainy Day:‘A refreshingly hilarious read; that has the power to pull at your heartstrings…it brought sunshine to my soul.’ The Writing Garnet‘If you enjoyed One Day, you’ll love this.’ Reader review‘I laughed and cried all the way through…a fantastic, laugh-out-loud feel-good book.’ Reader review‘An engaging and entertaining story!’ Rae Reads‘Funny and moving…it will make you laugh and cry, and wish you knew some of the characters in real life.’ Reader review‘Funny story…highly entertaining.’ Reader review