Зарубежный юмор

Различные книги в жанре Зарубежный юмор

Not Married, Not Bothered

Carol Clewlow

Witty and highly entertaining take on being single. Perfect for fans of Trisha Ashley. From the author of A Woman’s Guide to Adultery.Riley Gordon has no issues, no life crises and is happily enjoying the single life. But her persistent single status seems to be cause for much unwelcome discussion and everybody, including her own mother, feels the need to give her the benefit of their advice.Why can’t they just mind their own business? And what, exactly, is wrong with being footloose and fancy free into your forties?Carol Clewlow, author of A Woman's Guide to Adultery, has written a wonderfully refreshing, witty novel. Riley is a character all of us would like to have in our lives.

Never Goodnight

Coco Moodysson

The cult Swedish graphic novel that inspired the critically acclaimed Lukas Moodysson film ‘We Are the Best!’Coco, Klara and Mathilda have known each other since primary school, where they met in folk dancing class. Now they’re almost teenagers, and their anarchist ideals and dreams of forming a world-beating punk band set them apart from the other girls at school. They can’t play any instruments, practice with pillows and pans, and keep getting told that punk is dead. But they’re not going to let any of those things get in their way…Published in English for the first time, Never Goodnight is a hilarious and life-affirming memoir which will remind you that all you need in life is your best friends, a can of hairspray and three guitar chords.

Mainlander

Will Smith

The thrilling debut from comedy writer and stand up star, Will Smith – a novel about loneliness, about not belonging and about the corroding effects of keeping secrets.‘John le Carré meets 'Middlemarch’ Independent`We're on an island. Know what that means? Surrounded by water. No way off it. So he's not really missing. He's just not where he's supposed to be.'Jersey 1987.An island wrapped in secrets.A community simmering with rivalries.A marriage on the rocks.An outsider, resented by locals.A missing boy, seen on the edge of a cliff.And a Great Storm brewing.

My Christmas Wish

Julia Williams

A little festive eShort treat from the author who brought you, MAKE A CHRISTMAS WISH**A 35 page short story**Dear Mum,I miss you…As a way of coping with his mum’s death, fifteen-year-old Joe writes letters to her. As Christmas comes around, Joe only wishes for one thing. Will his Christmas wish come true?

Man and Wife

Tony Parsons

Harry Silver returns to face life in the “blended family.” A wonderful novel about modern times, which can be read as a sequel to the million selling Man and Boy, or completely on its own.Man and Wife is a novel about love and marriage – about why we fall in love and why we marry; about why we stay and why we go.Harry Silver is a man coming to terms with a divorce and a new marriage. He has to juggle with time and relationships, with his wife and his ex-wife, his son and his stepdaughter, his own work and his wife's fast-growing career.Meanwhile his mother, who stood so steadfastly by his father until he died, is not getting any younger or stronger herself.In fact, everything in Harry's life seems complicated. And when he meets a woman in a million, it gets even more so…Man and Wife stands on its own as a brilliant novel about families in the new century, written with all the humour, passion and superb storytelling that have made Tony Parsons a favourite author in over thirty countries.

Man and Boy

Tony Parsons

A fabulously engaging and exciting novel about a man who has to learn about life and love the hard way.Harry Silver has it all. A successful job in TV, a gorgeous wife, a lovely child. And in one moment of madness, he chucks it all away.Man and Boy is the story of how he comes to terms with his life and achieves a degree of self-respect, bringing up his son alone and, gradually, learning what words like love and family really mean.Very well written, pacy, funny, and heart-breakingly moving.

Letting You Go

Anouska Knight

What if a tragedy occurred and you only had yourself to blame? How do you move on from the past? Alex Foster lives a quiet life, avoiding the home she hasn’t visited in eight years. Then her sister Jaime calls. Their mother is sick, and Alex must return. Suddenly she’s plunged back into the past she’s been trying to escape.Returning to her hometown, memories of the tragic accident that has haunted her and her family are impossible to ignore. Alex still blames herself for what happened to her brother and it’s soon clear that her father holds her responsible too. As Alex struggles to cope, can she ever escape the ghosts of the past?

Never Kiss a Man in a Christmas Jumper

Debbie Johnson

You’ve seen Mark Darcy in his reindeer jumper, now meet Marco Cavelli in this season’s Christmas knit!For single mum Maggie, Christmas has always been a family occasion – her daughter Ellen filling the house with her bubbly warmth and mistletoe, her dad Paddy having one too many festive tipples, and the traditional family Christmas tree looking like a drunken elf vomited a rainbow all over it.But this year, with both Ellen and Paddy away for the holidays, Maggie’s facing a truly blue Christmas – alone with nothing but a bottle of Baileys and an M&S turkey dinner.Until walking the snowy streets of Oxford, Marco Cavelli quite literally crashes into her life – and, complete with broken leg, becomes her unexpected houseguest. All dreamy brown eyes and 6’5” of gorgeousness, the man is hotter and more delicious than a freshly baked mince pie.Though Maggie always thought it’s a truth universally acknowledged that you never kiss a man in a Christmas jumper?The next FABULOUS book from Debbie Johnson, author of best-selling Christmas number one, ‘Cold Feet at Christmas’ and the summer hit ‘Pippa’s Cornish Dream’.

How Hard Can It Be?

Allison Pearson

Kate Reddy is counting down the days until she is fifty, but not in a good way.Fifty, in Kate’s mind, equals invisibility, and she’s caught between her traitorous hormones, unknowable teenage children and ailing parents.She’s back at work after a break, now that her husband Rich has dropped out of the rat race to master the art of mindfulness. But just as Kate is finding a few tricks to get by, her old client and flame Jack reappears – complicated doesn’t even begin to cover it…

Jenny Lopez Saves Christmas: An I Heart Short Story

Lindsey Kelk

‘Brilliantly written, this festive instalment of Angela’s life is as funny and enjoyable as ever’CloserSleighbells ring, are you listening…Who wouldn’t want to escape to a cabin in snowy Vermont for Christmas? Jenny Lopez’s year has gone wrong, and Vermont with champagne and a sparkly Christmas tree is going to mend everything, along with her best friend Angela.She hits a few obstacles along the way, including a major work crisis and some unexpected Christmas companions. But this is Jenny Lopez. She’s determined to have the best Christmas known to man, even if it means dragging a turkey three miles in the snow. Single-handedly and in a Santa outfit Jenny Lopez is going to save Christmas – and have the best holiday season ever.