Зарубежный юмор

Различные книги в жанре Зарубежный юмор

The Personals

Brian O’Connell

The Personals reveals how classified ads are not just a few commercial lines of text in print or online – they can be a treasure trove of fascinating human stories; stories of love, loss, loneliness, redemption and hope. Some people do Sudoku, others watch Netflix. Brian O’Connell loves the classified ads. In an era of spin doctors and press releases, celebrities and social influencers, the classified ads can open a door into the lives of ordinary people with extraordinary stories. What draws Brian to the classified ads are the intriguing human stories he finds there, the unexpected twists and turns, the personalities, the curious objects and the range of human experience waiting to be discovered. The Personals is a diverse collection of compelling stories about the people and the lives behind the small ads.

I Carried a Watermelon: Dirty Dancing and Me

Katy Brand

’Massively enjoyable’ Dawn French I Carried a Watermelon is a love story to Dirty Dancing. A warm, witty and accessible look at how Katy Brand’s life-long obsession with the film has influenced her own attitudes to sex, love, romance, rights and responsibilities. It explores the legacy of the film, from pushing women’s stories to the forefront of commercial cinema, to its ‘Gold Standard’ depiction of abortion according to leading pro-choice campaigners, and its fresh and powerful take on the classic ‘coming of age’ story told from a naïve but idealistic 17-year-old girl’s point of view. Part memoir based on a personal obsession, part homage to a monster hit and a work of genius, Katy will explore her own memories and experiences, and talk to other fans of the film, to examine its legacy as a piece of filmmaking with a social agenda that many miss on first viewing. One of the most celebrated and viewed films ever made is about to have the time of its life.

A Friend Called Alfie

Rachel Wells

The Sunday Times bestseller returns for a sixth book! Alfie and his mischievous kitten George are back for more adventures – this time with a puppy in tow… At Christmas time we all need a friend… Alfie and his kitten, George, have always known that a human is for life and not just for Christmas. So when George learns that one of the residents of Edgar Road has been taken into hospital, he realises it’s up to him to provide some comfort at this difficult time of year. The only problem is that they now have a little puppy in tow – Pickles the Pug, who is convinced he can be a cat if only he sticks with his new found friends. As George tries to do everything he can to make the world – and its humans – happier, Alfie struggles to keep Pickles in check and out of trouble. Because even the best laid plans can be destroyed by a well-meaning – but mischievous – little puppy… Join Alfie, George – and now Pickles – as they come to the rescue of some lonely souls. The perfect read for fans of James Bowen from the Sunday Times bestseller.

Mummy Needs a Break

Susan Edmunds

A hilarious story of the ups and downs of unexpected single motherhood, the perfect laugh-out-loud romance for fans of Why Mummy Drinks, The Unmumsy Mum and The Not So Perfect Mum. With a devilish toddler and baby number two on the way, Rachel’s big dream is to one day go to the toilet on her own. So, she’s surprised to discover that her husband has found the time to have an exciting affair while she’s been bringing up their family. Suddenly, Rachel is left wrangling with a child who will only eat crackers and a 35-week bump. She knows even Mumsnet isn’t going to solve this. What Rachel needs is a handsome, good-with-children, single man. But she can barely leave the house without a stain on her top and child on her hip. How on earth can she claim her life back, let alone thinking about dating? What others are saying about Mummy Needs a Break: ‘Oh my goodness! This book is extremely gripping with lots of twists and things I did not see coming… The mummy parts are totally relatable and there are lots of funny moments mixed with sad, emotional ones too. A great easy-to-read book. I really enjoyed it. ’ Reader reviewer, 5 stars ‘This book was excellent!’ Reader review, 5 stars ‘A fabulous read!’ Reader review, 5 stars ‘Read this in one sitting can’t wait for the next book. ’ Reader review, 5 stars ‘This one is for all the women out there busting butt and getting it done! Love this book. Read the whole thing in one day. You will laugh, relate and just love this book. ’ Reader review, 5 stars ‘Had me giggling out loud… If you are looking for a fun, feel good, uplifting read, with a strong female lead, plenty of humour, drama and a dash of romance, then you will love Mummy Needs A Break!’ Reader review, 4 stars ‘This book had me laughing, shouting and also melted my heart’ Reader review, 4 stars ‘Perfect chick lit! I recommend this for anyone looking for a light and fun read!’ Reader review, 4 stars ‘Absolutely fantastic had me gripped!!! Loved it! Can't wait for more from this author. ’ Reader review, 4 stars

The Second Life of Nathan Jones: A laugh out loud, OMG! romcom that you won’t be able to put down!

David Atkinson

The bestselling author of Love Byte is back with this laugh-out-loud hilarious rom com! Getting hit by a bus was the best thing that ever happened to him… When one wrong step – and the poor timing of the number 19 bus – send Nathan Jones to the Edinburgh morgue his story should have ended…but then he went and woke up. Returned to real life Nathan finds a wife disappointed that he’s miraculously returned from the dead and an unshakeable attraction for mortuary technician Kat – the woman who brought him back to life, in more ways than one. Now, as his world implodes and Kat leads him down an unexpected path, Nathan somehow finds himself having the time of his second life… A hilarious, uplifting story of second chances, death defying hijinks and motorhome mayhem – Mhairi McFarlane meets Eleanor Oliphant!

488 Rules for Life: The Thankless Art of Being Correct

Kitty Flanagan

488 Rules for Life is Kitty Flanagan's way of making the world a more pleasant place to live. Providing you with the antidote to every annoying little thing, these rules are not made to be broken. 488 Rules for Life is not a self-help book, because it's not you who needs help, it's other people. Whether they're walking and texting, asphyxiating you on public transport with their noxious perfume cloud, or leaving one useless square of toilet paper on the roll, a lot of people just don't know the rules. But thanks to Kitty Flanagan's comprehensive guide to modern behaviour, our world will soon be a much better place. A place where people don't ruin the fruit salad by putting banana in it … where your co-workers respect your olfactory system and don't reheat their fish curry in the office microwave … where middle aged men don't have ponytails … Other rules to live by include: 1. Men must wear shorts over leggingsThe gym is no place for people to discover whether or not you are circumcised. That’s a private discussion for another place and time. 2. Team bonding activities should be optionalSome people love it when management decides that an afternoon of bowling or paintballing or (god forbid) karaoke will help everyone work better as a team. Others would rather be dead. 3. Don’t ever mention your ‘happy place’To me, this sounds less like a pleasant, fun state of mind and more like some kind of utopian wank palace you’ve had built in the basement. What started as a personal joke is now a quintessential reference book with the power to change society. (Or, at least, make it a bit less irritating. ) What people are (Kitty Flanagan is) saying about this book: 'You're welcome everyone. ' 'Thank god for me. ' 'I'd rather be sad and lonely, but right. ' 'There's not actually 488 rules in here but it sure feels like it'.

How to Build a Boyfriend from Scratch

Sarah Archer

‘Refreshing and fun’ Debbie Johnson ‘Thoroughly entertaining’ Love Reading Dating is hard. Being dateless at your perfect sister's wedding is harder. Meet Kelly. A brilliant but socially awkward robotics engineer desperately seeking a wedding date… Meet Ethan. Intelligent, gorgeous, brings out the confidence Kelly didn’t know she had and … not technically human. (But no one needs to know that. ) With her sister’s wedding looming and everyone in the world on her case about being perpetually single, Kelly decides to take her love life into her own hands – and use her genius skills to create Ethan. But when she can’t resist keeping her new boy toy around even after the ‘I do’s’, Kelly knows she needs to hit the off switch on this romance, fast. Only, when you’ve found (well, made) your perfect man, how do you kiss him goodbye? Readers love this book! ‘Funny, lighthearted, joyous, romantic and fun…really awesome’ Karen W, Netgalley ‘Reminded me a lot of Jane Austen's dry humour…super relaxing summer read’ Sophie G, Netgalley ‘Charming…An ideal read for a summer day’ Petra Q, Netgalley

Uudishimuline pärdik

Gori

Piltidega lastelugu.

Love is the Drug

Ashley Croft

It’s all in the chemistry…Sisters Sarah and Molly are close, but they couldn’t be more different. Sarah runs a craft business and is obsessed with all things shiny and glam, whilst Molly is much more at home in her white coat and goggles, working in a science lab.When Molly is put onto a new assignment, she’s over the moon. It’s a high-profile, top secret project – and she has a handsome new boss to ogle at when she’s not bending over a petri dish…But when Sarah finds herself on the painful end of a disastrous break-up, no amount of Ben & Jerry’s or trashy rom-coms can cheer her up. She wants to take a more drastic approach to dealing with her heartbreak, and one that only her sister – and perhaps a sprinkle of science – can help with . . .Will Sarah find love where she least expects it, or is it really all in the chemistry?

In at the Deep End

Kate Davies

‘Every woman should own a copy of this book’ Erin Kelly author of He Said/She SaidUntil recently, Julia hadn’t had sex in three years.But now:• a one-night stand is accusing her of breaking his penis;• a sexually confident lesbian is making eyes at her over confrontational modern art;• and she’s about to learn that she’s been looking for love – and satisfaction – in all the wrong places.Frank, filthy and very, very funny, In at the Deep End is a brilliant debut from a major new talent.#ImInAtTheDeepEnd