Зарубежные детективы

Различные книги в жанре Зарубежные детективы

Everywhere That Mary Went

Lisa Scottoline

‘What fun! Lisa Scottoline brings something new to the lawyer-mystery – a brilliant sense of humor. Grabs you with its intelligence, wit and energy and doesn’t let go.’ Susan IsaacsMary DiNunzio has been slaving away for the past eight years to make partner in her cut-throat Philadelphia law firm. She hasn’t got time to worry about crank phone calls and hate mail – until a sinister pattern begins to form: someone wants Mary out of the way enough to kill her. But who can she trust when everyone she knows is a lawyer?Taut, tense, fast-paced and funny, Everywhere That Mary Went was Lisa Scottoline’s first novel and earned her a nomination by the Mystery Writers of America for an Edgar Award, the equivalent of an Oscar in the suspense business.

Don’t Look Twice

Andrew Gross

A breathtaking novel of suspense from the co-author five No 1 James Patterson bestsellers including Judge and Jury and Lifeguard, and the hit thrillers The Blue Zone and The Dark TideA drive-by shootingA dead public attorneyA gangland vendettaFor Ty Hauck, the local detective who gets caught in the cross-fire, it seems as if inner-city violence has invaded his quiet Greenwich suburb. Or does someone just want it to appear that way?Hauck knows there is far more at stake than preliminary digging indicates – maybe stretching as far as Washington and the Senate. And everyone, from the FBI to his own family, wants him to stop looking.But Ty ignores the warnings… with devastating and explosive consequences.

An Angel For Christmas

Heather Graham

A snowy mountainside. . . A starry night. . . The makings of a miracle. . .Christmas has never brought out the best in the MacDougal family. Still, year after year, they gather together in the Blue Ridge Mountains to try to make the season merry and bright. But this year is an especially strained one, with Shayne’s impending divorce, Morwenna’s slavish devotion to work and Bobby’s reluctance to face what life has to offer.They’ve never felt less like a family. Then, in the midst of a snowy sibling shouting match, a mysterious stranger appears. He could be a criminal, a madman—or something far more unexpected. Despite their fears and the growing danger in the dark woods around them, the MacDougals take a leap of faith.But when another stranger arrives on the mountainside, they don’t know which of them to believe. One of these men can’t be trusted. And one is about to bring Christmas into their hearts.

A Sleep and A Forgetting

Gregory Hall

A suicide letter from a young woman with everything to live for plunges her sister into a sinister investigation – uncovering the shared past they tried so hard to conceal.In this complex mystery which will delight all fans of Robert Goddard, the horrors of the past disrupt the lives of two sisters – and of everyone who is close to them.Catriona is a well-respected academic, specialising in the Romantic Poets at a prestigious London college. Everything revolves around her work, leaving no space for personal relationships. She’s the exact opposite of her sister Flora, who enjoys a rural existence in the Cotswolds with her scientist husband and teenage daughter. Then Catriona receives Flora’s suicide letter.Catriona races to the picturesque village, but there is no body to be found. Has Flora really killed herself, or is this an excuse to vanish -and if so, why? The sisters have spent their adult lives trying to bury what happened in their childhood, but Catriona must now face a very different kind of oblivion before the truth comes out.

A Place of Safety

Helen Black

When the world has failed you, you need a place of safety…Hard-hitting crime from the author of Damaged Goods.The rape of a young asylum seeker plunges family care lawyer Lilly Valentine into the toughest case of her life.14-year-old Anna lives in Hounds Place, a hostel in Bedfordshire for youngsters seeking refuge from the atrocities being carried out in their homelands. A chance meeting with three public schoolboys ends in her being horrifically assaulted. When Artan, Anna's friend and a fellow asylum seeker, approaches Lilly about seeking justice through the courts she warns him that the law may not be on their side. Who will believe the words of an asylum seeker over the account of three privileged English boys? Despite this, Lilly is loath to get involved. After all, she is supposed to be putting her family and work commitments first.But Lilly quickly lives to regret that decision when Artan and Anna turn up at a school armed with guns, determined to take matters into their own hands. The day turns to tragedy and Anna is arrested. Wracked with guilt, Lilly is compelled to take on Anna's case despite the objections of her boyfriend Jack, boss, and most importantly, her own son Sam – a pupil at the school.Her decision to defend Anna attracts a huge backlash from the press and the community. And when local racist groups pick up on the story, Lilly's family and friends become a target. Can Lilly follow her conscience and defend Anna – or is this case just too close to home?

A Small Death in Lisbon

Robert Thomas Wilson

This stunning, atmospheric thriller set in war-torn Europe won the CWA Gold Dagger and has now been reissued with the Javier Falcon series.A Portuguese bank is founded on the back of Nazi wartime deals.Over half a century later a young girl is murdered in Lisbon.1941. Klaus Felsen, SS, arrives in Lisbon and the strangest party in history where Nazis and Allies, refugees and entrepreneurs dance to the strains of opportunism and despair. Felsen’s war takes him to the bleak mountains of the north where a brutal battle is being fought for an element vital to Hitler’s blitzkrieg.Late 1990s, Lisbon. Inspector Ze Coelho is investigating the murder of a young girl with a disturbing sexual past. As Ze digs deeper he overturns the dark soil of history and unearths old bones. The 1974 revolution has left injustices of the old fascist regime unresolved. But there’s an older, greater injustice for which this small death in Lisbon is horrific compensation, and in his final push for the truth, Ze must face the most chilling opposition.

A Fruitful Sunday: An Agatha Christie Short Story

Агата Кристи

A classic Agatha Christie short story, available individually for the first time as an ebook.Edward Palgrove gets more than he bargained for when he buys a basket of fruit and a second-hand car…

A Double Coffin

Gwendoline Butler

John Coffin is left reeling after the former Prime Minister makes a shocking confession. A dark and gripping crime novel from one of the most appraised English mystery writers, perfect for fans of Agatha Christie.A visit to the riverside apartment of the long retired former prime minister, Richard Lavender, is to have startling consequences for John Coffin. For it transpires that the old man, nearing the end of his life, has a confession to make: he is the son of a serial killer. He tells Coffin how, as a boy, he helped to bury one of his father’s victims. Feeling death is near, he wants to repair and reclaim the past – with Coffin’s help.Unsure whether Lavender is caught up in fantasy or telling the truth, Coffin agrees to investigate and appoints Chief Inspector Phoebe Astley to the task. But then a young woman is found murdered on a foggy November night, and all too soon the sins of the past and present come together in a terrifying denouement.

22 Dead Little Bodies and Other Stories

Stuart MacBride

From the No. 1 bestselling author of THE MISSING AND THE DEAD comes the short novel: 22 DEAD LITTLE BODIES, plus two short stories: STRAMASH and DI STEEL'S BAD HEIR DAY, and a novella: THE 45% HANGOVER, all featuring his most popular characters – DS Logan McRae and DCI Roberta Steel.They say ‘small is beautiful’, but as Stuart MacBride demonstrates in these four tales, it can also be dark, violent, disturbing, and sometimes really quite rude.So pour yourself a wee dram, curl up on the sofa and enjoy DS Logan McRae and his sometime boss, friend, mother substitute, and nemesis, DCI Steel at their best.Here you’ll find Logan’s week from hell; Steel’s own personal nightmare before Christmas; an explosive shootout on a remote Scottish island; and the ultimate test of their relationship…

Shadows: The gripping new crime thriller from the #1 bestseller

Paul Finch

‘A fast-paced, terrifying journey.’ RACHEL ABBOTT‘A born storyteller.’ PETER JAMES’Intense action and an enthralling female lead.’ L.A. LARKINThe SUNDAY TIMES bestseller returns with the second book in the PC Lucy Clayburn series – a must for all fans of Happy Valley and M.J. Arlidge.As a female cop walking the mean streets of Manchester, life can be tough for PC Lucy Clayburn. But when one of the North West’s toughest gangsters is your father, things can be particularly difficult.When Lucy's patch is gripped by a spate of murder-robberies, the police are quick to action. Yet when it transpires that the targets are Manchester’s criminal underworld, attitudes change.Lucy is soon faced with one of the toughest cases of her life – and one which will prove once and for all whether blood really is thicker than water…